Irish Theatre Institute’s base is located in the building at 17 Eustace Street in Temple Bar, Dublin’s cultural quarter. The house plays host to a wide range of activities from research to training, project development to casting, and international networking to one-to-one Information Clinics.
House History: A Brief Outline
17 Eustace Street is a four storey Georgian building of cultural significance and has a long and varied history, having been constructed sometime between 1708 and 1715. Number 17 can be considered quite unique as, throughout its history, it accommodated a broad range of occupants from a Lord Mayor of Dublin, Sir Thomas Blackhall, to merchants, goldsmiths, gun-makers and solicitors. The street itself was home to the infamous Eagle Tavern, which played a crucial role in 1798 rebellion. 17 Eustace Street was also once a tavern – The Sign of the Three Stags’ Heads – in the 18th century, when it was home to the Corporation of Apothecaries. In 2007 No 17 was full refurbished to ITI’s brief.
Further information on the history of 17 Eustace Street is available below.