Phelim Donlon Playwright’s Bursary & Residency

Phelim Donlon Playwright’s Bursary and Residency is an initiative of Irish Theatre Institute in association with Tyrone Guthrie Centre. The bursary was created in 2015 in honour of Phelim Donlon, former Drama Officer at the Arts Council and a dedicated member of the first Irish Theatre Institute PLAYOGRAPHYIreland Advisory Panel, in acknowledgement of his valued contribution to Irish theatre. For more information on Phelim Donlon see People of Irish Theatre.

Three artists are shortlisted. The award comprises an ITI writers’ bursary of €2,000 and a 2 weeks’ fully resourced residency in Tyrone Guthrie Centre, Annaghmakerrig. The shortlisted artists will each receive €500. An open call is made annually to playwrights with at least one full-length play staged by a recognised professional production company/producer. 

Applications for 2024 opened in early January and closed in February. 

Tyrone Guthrie Centre, Annaghmakerrig

The overarching policy principle of the Tyrone Guthrie Centre (TGC) is to provide the conditions in which artists can focus exclusively and for extended periods on the creation and development of their work.

Previous recipients of the award are Fiona Doyle (2015/16), Carys D. Coburn (2016/17), Amy Conroy (2017/18), Karen Cogan (2018/19), Sonya Kelly (2019/20), Stephen Jones (2020/21), John O’Donovan (2021/22) and Caitriona Daly (2022/23). The current recipients are Michael Patrick and Oisín Kearney.


Carys D. Coburn

Carys D. Coburn  is a writer based in Dublin. Their work has won praise for…

Read More

Karen Cogan

Karen Cogan’s first play The Half Of It won the Stewart Parker Award 2017 and…

Read More

Amy Conroy

Amy Conroy is an actor, playwright, theatre maker and Artistic Director of HotForTheatre. Her first…

Read More

Fiona Doyle

Fiona Doyle’s work in theatre includes Coolatully (winner of the 2014 Papatango New Writing Prize)…

Read More

Stephen Jones

Stephen is an Actor and Writer from Tallaght. Stephen began writing plays at University College…

Read More

Sonya Kelly

Sonya Kelly’s debut solo play, The Wheelchair on My Face, a Show in a Bag…

Read More

John O’Donovan

John O’Donovan is a playwright and screenwriter. His plays include If We Got Some More…

Read More

Caitríona Daly

Caitríona Daly is a playwright and screenwriter from Dublin. Previous works include: Duck Duck Goose…

Read More

Michael Patrick and Oisín Kearney

Michael Patrick (writer/actor) and Oisín Kearney (writer/director) are a creative partnership working across Theatre, Radio, TV & Film,…

Read More

Related News & Events