2023 Gap Exchange Artists Announced

Top: Asa Horvitz, Deirdre Dwyer, Fatih Devos, Gregory Herbert, James Riordan, Jija Sohn Bottom: Luke Casserly, Merel Stolker, Noelle Brown, Peter Power, Shanna May Breen, Simone Tani

The Gap Exchange programme partners are delighted to announce the 2023 Artists participating in this exciting pilot programme. Gap Exchange is being run by Creative Facilitator Lian Bell and Irish Theatre Institute (ITI); with longstanding Gap Day partners Mermaid Arts Centre (Wicklow), The Town Hall Theatre (Galway) and The Everyman Theatre (Cork) with support from Garter Lane Theatre (Waterford) and Backstage Arts Centre (Longford); and in partnership with SPRING Performing Arts Festival (Utrecht, Netherlands), Arts Centre VIERNULVIER (Ghent, Belgium), Bluecoat (Liverpool, England); and with support from the Department of Foreign Affairs.

The 2023 Artists Gap Exchange Artists are:

Asa Horvitz (Utrecht)
Deirdre Dwyer (Waterford)
Fatih Devos (Ghent)
Gregory Herbert (Liverpool)
James Riordan (Galway)
Jija Sohn (Utrecht)
Luke Casserly (Longford)
Merel Stolker (Ghent)
Noelle Brown (Cork)
Peter Power (Cork)
Shanna May Breen (Offaly)
Simone Tani (Liverpool)

For more information on the participating artists and their practice, please see the PDF below.

What is Gap Exchange?
It’s a way for contemporary theatre artists to share their practice, learn from international peers, and develop an international network. It will be practice-centred, informal, egalitarian, and thoughtful, and will have a focus on taking time and offering hospitality. This is a pilot programme to bring six artists based in Ireland in contact with six international artists (two in Belgium, two in England and two in the Netherlands). Each artist will be paired with one other artist and visit them in their homeplace between April and July 2023. They’ll also all meet collectively online. The focus is on theatre artists based, or with strong creative communities, outside of capital cities.


Gap Exchange 2023