Caitríona Daly, winner of the Phelim Donlon Playwright's Bursary & Residency 2023

Irish Theatre Institute (ITI) in association with Tyrone Guthrie Centre & Dr Pat Donlon are delighted to announce that the recipient of the 8th Phelim Donlon Playwright’s Bursary & Residency is Caitríona Daly. 

On making the announcement Niamh O’Donnell, Director of Irish Theatre Institute, said:

From a large number of talented applicants, our artists panel, Massie Lee, Barry McGovern and Elaine Murphy, had the difficult task of shortlisting to just three immensely skilled writers: Caitríona Daly, Katie McCann and Ian Toner. 

The 2023 Phelim Donlon Playwright’s Bursary & Residency goes to the wonderful Caitríona Daly.  Caitríona is a powerhouse, no longer one to watch but one to follow, with a number of high-profile plays and productions in her repertoire.  This bursary, alongside the two-week residency with our partners in Annaghmakerrig, gives Catriona time to reflect and to stretch her practice and work towards developing a new work.

ITI also wants to thank our runners up, Katie McCann and Ian Toner. We are very confident we will continue to see their great writing produced in the future.”

About the Award

This award is named in honour of Phelim Donlon, former Drama Officer at the Arts Council and a dedicated member of the first Irish Theatre Institute (ITI) PLAYOGRAPHYIreland Advisory Panel, in acknowledgement of his valued contribution to Irish theatre.

The recipient of the 2023 award receives an ITI writer’s bursary of €2,000 and a two week fully resourced residency in Tyrone Guthrie Centre, Annaghmakerrig.

This Bursary and Residency provides a professional, produced playwright with the time, physical resources and mentoring necessary to support their writing of a new play. Recipients are selected from an annual open call to playwrights.

Thank you to the artist panel; Barry McGovern, Maisie Lee and Elaine Murphy. This year we announced the shortlisted artists; [shortlisted artist names] who will each receive €500.

Previous playwrights awarded this bursary & residency include John O’Donovan (2022) Stephen Jones (2021) Sonya Kelly (2020), Karen Cogan (2019), Amy Conroy (2018), Carys D. Coburn (2017) and Fiona Doyle (2016).

Further information on the award and previous recipients is available here

About Caitríona Daly:

Caitríona Daly is a playwright and screenwriter from Dublin. Previous works include: Duck Duck Goose (Winner, Writers Guild of Ireland Zebbie Award for Best Theatre Script 2021); Normal (nominated Fishamble New Writing Award 2017); and Test Dummy (nominated Irish Times Theatre Award for Best New Play 2016). She is currently under commission with the Abbey Theatre and is a writer for a continuing BBC Drama series.

Phelim Donlon (1936 – 2014)

Phelim began work at the Arts Council in 1983, and served as Film, Drama and Opera Officer, retiring in 2001. He was also Director of the Auditoria review of the built infrastructure for the performing arts throughout Ireland. In retirement, his commitment remained undiminished, and he served on the boards of many performing arts organisations. 

The Phelim Donlon Playwright’s Bursary & Residency is funded by the Arts Council /An Chomhairle Ealaíon.