Phelim Donlon

Irish Theatre Institute in association with Tyrone Guthrie Centre call for applications for the inaugural Phelim Donlon Playwright Bursary 2015/16

Irish Theatre Institute and the Tyrone Guthrie Centre at Annaghmakerrig are delighted to announce their partnership offering the inaugural Phelim Donlon Playwright in Residence Bursary.  The Bursary will include a two weeks’ fully resourced residency in Annaghmakerrig, to take place between January and June 2016, and an ITI writer’s stipend of €1,000 in cash.  This award is named in honour of Phelim Donlon, former Drama Officer at the Arts Council and a dedicated member of the first Irish Theatre Institute PLAYOGRAPHYIreland Advisory Panel, in acknowledgement of his valued contribution to Irish theatre.


Who can apply:

Application is open to playwrights resident in the Republic of Ireland with at least one full length play staged by a recognised professional production company/producer.  Priority will be given to individual writers over writing collectives, writing teams or writing partnerships.

How to apply:

Applications are accepted by email only to and must include:

  • A cover letter with personal details, your statement of artistic intent and
    a concise outline of the project you intend to work on during your time in Annaghmakerrig.
  • A CV (maximum two pages) highlighting your work in theatre, in particular your writing and theatre-maker contributions.
  • Example of your previously professionally produced play that you consider relevant to your application –  reviews, visuals, audiovisual, programme, as appropriate (audiovisual and scanned files to be submitted via DropBox or WeTransfer) and a script sample of no more than 20 pages.
  • Confirmation of your availability to undertake the two week residency at Annaghmakerrig between January – June 2016


All relevant information and links should be submitted in one email application.

Applications will be received at any time from Monday 21stSeptember until the deadline at 5pm, Thursday 29th October 2015.  Incomplete and late applications will not be considered.  Applications will be acknowledged by email on receipt.


Selection Process:

All applications go to the selection committee that will comprise Siobhán Bourke and Jane Daly, Co-Directors Irish Theatre Institute; Pat Donlon and an external expert. The successful applicant will be notified by Friday 27th November. The Bursary recipient will be announced at a celebration in Irish Theatre Institute, 17 Eustace Street, Dublin 2 on 3rd December 2015.


Further details are available from Eláine Donnelly,