Phelim Donlon 1936 - 2014. Playwrights Fiona Doyle and Dylan Coburn Gray

Irish Theatre Institute and the Tyrone Guthrie Centre, Annaghmakerrig are delighted to announce the open call for the 3rd Phelim Donlon Playwright Bursary and Residency.

This award is named in honour of Phelim Donlon, former Drama Officer at the Arts Council and a dedicated member of the first Irish Theatre Institute PLAYOGRAPHYIreland Advisory Panel, in acknowledgement of his valued contribution to Irish theatre.


The 3rd Phelim Donlon Playwright’s Bursary and Residency 2017/18 will provide a playwright with the time, physical resources and mentoring necessary to support their writing of a new play.  The award comprises the ITI writer’s bursary of €1,000 and a two weeks’ fully resourced residency in Annaghmakerrig to take place between January and June 2018.  The previous recipients of the award are Fiona Doyle (2015/16) and Dylan Coburn Gray (2016/17).


“The Phelim Donlon bursary was a valuable vote of confidence for me, at just the right time. It afforded me the time to write a play I would not otherwise have written, to continue to experiment beyond the bounds of the work I was required to make this year. I think most playwrights feel the tension between getting work out there and writing work which can’t/won’t be staged immediately. Finding some way of doing both is really important if you’re going to continue to grow as a writer, and I couldn’t have done so without the help of everyone at ITI and the Tyrone Guthrie” – Dylan Coburn Gray recipient of the 2nd Phelim Donlon Playwright’s Bursary and Residency 2016/17.



Application is open to playwrights resident in the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland with a minimum one full length play produced by a recognised professional production company/producer.  Writers who have previously submitted to this award, but were unsuccessful, are welcome to re-apply. Priority will be given to individual writers over writing collectives, writing teams or writing partnerships.


Application Process:

Applications are accepted by email only to and must include:

•  A cover letter with:

·  Your statement of artistic intent as a writer and how receiving this award would help your practice;

·  A concise outline of the project you want to work on during your Annaghmakerrig residency (it must be a new idea and not a project that is already in train);

·  Confirmation that you are available to undertake the two-week residency at Annaghmakerrig between January – June 2018.

•  A CV (maximum two pages) highlighting your work in professional theatre and, in particular, your writing and theatre-maker contributions.

•  A sample of your writing for theatre of no more than 20 pages.

•  Evidence of your previously professionally produced play(s) e.g. programme, poster/flyer, full text, reviews, video links, images. You may include a maximum of 3 items; larger files can be submitted via Dropbox or WeTransfer.)


All relevant information and links should be submitted in one email application. Applications will be accepted at any time until the deadline at 12pm, Wednesday 8th November 2017.

Incomplete and late applications will not be considered.  Applications will be acknowledged by email on receipt.


Selection Process:

All applications go to the selection committee that will comprise Jane Daly and/or Siobhán Bourke, Co-Directors Irish Theatre Institute; Dr. Pat Donlon and an external expert.

The successful applicant will be notified by Monday 27th November. The Bursary recipient will be announced at a celebration in Irish Theatre Institute, 17 Eustace Street, Dublin 2 during the week commencing Monday 4th December 2017.


Further details are available from Eláine Donnelly,